Posted in Dose of daisy

Realization.

Mood Music – “Crown Royal” by Jill Scott

Today is a beautiful morning.  My internship is amazing. My curls are still poppin’ two days later. But, on top of all that I realized what I was soul searching for a few weeks ago.

A while ago, I was blogging about trying to fill an internal emptiness.  Nothing I did was fulfilling me, though.  I practically gave up on my search.  That was until one of my counterparts exhibited behaviors that I found rather childish and pessimistic.  As I drove home deciding on the way to react to the madness, a voice went off in my head. The voice merely said, “Every action does not deserve a reaction.”

At that moment, I knew what I needed to do.  I needed to give up on always trying to look at the big picture, and focus on the greater detail. This detail was ME.   Too often we place the feelings, wants, and needs of others before our own.  Sometimes it gets to the point where we forget about our own feelings, wants, needs, and personal goals.  But, I have to put an end to that.

I have to allow my tunnel vision to set in and remember to do what is best for me.  Now, I am not saying fuck everyone and their feelings, but I am saying focus on yourself.  If your not 100% invested in yourself than you can never invest in someone else. That was what I was lacking.  I lacked personal investment.  I was so intrigued about maintaining healthy relationships and making sure to bend over backwards for anybody I felt I shared a bond with.  I was worried about other peoples opinion of me disregarding the fact that they did’nt know my struggle and destination.  I was discouraged because I wanted people to follow the golden rule: Treating others how you would want to be treated. But, always seemed to be let down.

So how can I prevent these things? It is a rather simple solution.

  1. Focus on your goals and dreams.  Even if it may be unrealistic to someone else that does not mean give up on it.  Dreams become reality everyday.  When you feel like all your support is gone continue planning.  Lack of support can be the additional push that you need.  Never give up.
  2. Do not expect anything of others.  Often we want people to treat us the same way we treat them. Only to be let down in the long run.  You should continue to treat people how you would want to be treated. But, just remember everyone is not built like you. The love you show may not be reciprocated.  It’s okay, though. Just continue to do you.
  3. Fuck an opinion.  Everyday I remind myself words stick to you like glue.  Just focus on being the best you.  When you reach your personal high nothing will be able to stop you.    People will always have opinions; however it is up to you to choose which one you want to take to heart.

Focusing on yourself sounds like an easy task. But, often we get lost along the way pleasing our peers and focusing on the bigger picture.  There is not anything wrong with that.  But, make sure you are satisfied with yourself first.  Self love is the most important thing to have because once you develop it everything else will come naturally.

I’m focusing on Daisy. Daisy’s happiness is the light at the end of my tunnel.  So until next time. Peace, love, and a Dose of Daisy.

Author:

I'm just an aspiring social worker & public figure that enjoys juggling the weight of my world on my shoulders. One day I will be on Forbes list.

Leave a Reply

